Antelope Valley California Poppy Reserve

I’ve abandoned my blog for quite a while, but it got a new face as well as my website got a pretty facelift, check it out . Trying to catch  up with a few new posts.

The other week I went with my friend Fariba to see the Antelope Valley California Poppy reserve, it’s been years that I wanted to go there. My new camera needed to be taken out, what a celebration. At the visitor center we had to learn that this season had been very disappointing as far as blooming, for two reasons. For one the weather had been too cold this season, as the seeds were trying to come out it got really cold up there and the seeds had to change their mind. The other reason is that it seems that a certain type of European grass, which was brought over in the 15th century ( yes you are reading this right) from European settlers is affecting nature drastically. It takes away the nutrition and the water from all the other plants and that makes the survival for like poppies really hard. What an interesting cause.

Oh well , we were here and tried to make it the best and got to see some nice blooming.

 

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

