NEW YORK CITY , THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY

The New York Public Library was designed in 1897 on the site of the former Croton Distributing Reservoir, which had been the  drinking water reservoir for New Yorkers. Next to it stood the Crystal Palace an iron and glass exhibition hall erected for the 1853 World’s Fair which burned to the ground in 1858. The architects of the New York Public Library were Carrere & Hastings : their vision came true in what is considered the epitome of New York’s Beaux Art period. Escaping one of those New York rain showers I decided to explore this beautiful building.

 

There are 88 miles of shelves holding over 8 million volumes of books. Well nowadays everybody is reading via internet, instead of books on the desks you see only computer screens.

The Main Reading Room, with its original bronze reading lamps

 

Outdoor reading!

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NEW YORK CITY , THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY

  1. wow, cornelia, I just LOVE that top shot! I can see that enlarged on a wall. How great!

  2. Linda says:

    I love it that you also fell in love with the NYCPL – I used to go there often. It’s so cozy and richly adorned. Of course, I never saw it with the same eyes that you did. Thank you for making it new and even more fascinating.

Leave a Reply

