NEW YORK CITY, THE HIGH LINE PARK

The High Line is a 1 mile New York City linear park built on a 1.45 mile section of the former elevated New York City Railroad spur which runs along the lower east side of Manhattan. It has been redesigned and planted as an aerial greenway. The Central Railroad connected directly to factories and warehouses without disturbingĀ  traffic on the streets. The growth of interstate trucking led to closing down the railroad lines in 1980. Active Chelsea residents challenged the demolition efforts and eventually in 2011 a ribbon was cut to open The High Line as an elevated Park. The vegetation was chosen to pay homage to the wild plants that had colonized the abandoned railway before it was repurposed.

A series of artwork in unexpected locations, called Liliput, inspired by Jonathan Swift’s novel, ” Gullivers Travel”

View towards Chelsea

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NEW YORK CITY, THE HIGH LINE PARK

  1. Judi McKenzie says:

    More terrific images from NYC! The polka dotted building and the sky image looks like two different photos. It has a surreal feel to it! Love it! Was that really a guy in the window? Love it too. I also loved your framing with the plants looking onto the cityscape! Great job as usual!

    • Thank you Judi, only a pro like you would notice all the details, well we had the same teachers!!! Thank you for your observation on the dotted buidling, my camere was just like ” combing the sky”.

  2. This is an unexpected treat. I haven’t been back to the city for awhile and didn’t know about this project. I like the variety of shots that gave us a true feeling for what it would be like up there. Thanks for sharing.

  3. some great finds here Cornelia. Especially Liliput!

Leave a Reply

