WORLD TRADE CENTER , GROUND ZERO 11th anniversary of 9/11

The World Trade Center was previously known as Ground Zero since it was destroyed in the September 11th, attacks. The origin of the term Ground Zero goes back to the Atomic bombing in Japan in June 1946. The term Ground Zero refers to the ground directly below the detonation; ” Zero” was the code name given to the spot chosen for the atomic bomb test in 1945.

The western portion of the World Trade Center site was originally under the Hudson River. At it’s shoreline a Dutch explorer’s ship The TYGER burned to the waterline in November 1613; the stranded ship’s crew was  forced to overwinter on the island. They built the first European settlement in what would be New York City. The remains of hte ship were buried under landfill when the shoreline was extended starting in 1797 and were discovered during excavation work in 1916. The remains of a second ship from the eighteens century were discovered in 2010 during more excavation work. It was found just south of where the Twin Towers used to stand, the building of the Twin Towers started in 196o.

In 2003 after a hard competetion between many architects and designers it was decided to rebuild THE ONE WORLD TRADE CENTER and THE NATIONAL SEPTEMBER 11th MEMORIAL & MUSEUM. Among the numerous architect companies are the THINK Team and Daniel Libeskind.

As I was visiting the Ground Zero, the visitor center was already closed and one of the New York summer rains started to come down, though I had very little time to shoot a few images.  Most attracting to me were the reflections of surrounding buildings. These images are a tribute of remembarence of September 11th.

Ditching through the rain towards the Metro suddenly the sky opened up to this sunset reflection on this building across Ground Zero. All the sadness I had felt for the thousands of people who left their life during the attack and the loss for their loved ones , had lifted. This short moment of a glorious reflection raised awareness in me of HOPE and PEACE for this world.

                                                                                                                                                                Just recently I watched a great movie which I really recommend  “Extremely Loud and incredibly Close”

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WORLD TRADE CENTER , GROUND ZERO 11th anniversary of 9/11

  1. Wonderful crisp images Cornelia, in tribute. What lens did you use for these? The last is wonderful. Thank you for movie recommendation. I will look out for it today 🙂

    • Thank you Marina for enjoying the images. For this one I liked the contrasyt effect. I used a 70-300mm lens, that gave me enough room to zoom in, since I was kind of away from my subjects. YEs the last one was my favorite with lots of meaning. Good to hear from you.

  2. Judi McKenzie says:

    How appropriate that you share your wonderful images of the new buildings that have been built in the past 11 years since 9/11. You have captured them so well. I love that you have included some historical facts along with your images! Great job!

  3. ~mimo~ says:

    Great post, moving images, especially the last one with the golden light!

Leave a Reply

