RockSugar Pan Asian Restaurant in Los Angeles, Central City

The Rock Sugar is located in Century City in Los Angeles on the Santa Monica Blvd.

The decor here is my favorite. Teak wood, asian inspired moldings put together, the Shiva’s and Buddha’s.

Dimly lit high ceiling and lanterns, a waterfall behind a glass door, it all creates a zen like mood. It’s a work of art.

The food is delightful, even with many choices for vegetarians. It has a mix of Asian and Indian types of culinary art. I dined with my friend and we shared several dishes. Rice puffed crackers with a chutney type of dipping as a complimentary. Rice noodles, sprouts, with shrimps  mildly spiced with peanut sauce and than a spicy Thai curry with Tofu companied with cilantro in coconut sauce. Fried calamary with a spicy dip  and of course delicious spring rolls.

The outside lounge with a fire pit and comfortable seats create a very relaxing atmosphere with lanterns hanging above us. Their reflections on the floor created an interesting shape.

On the way out of this “food shrine” we noticed all these exterior details. Well we are both photographers.

It was our second time at The Rocksugar and I can’t wait to return. Next time for an exhibition at The Annenberg Space for Photography . For photography lovers the currrent exhibition is “Who shot Rock & Roll”, and the future exhibition ” No Strangers” ancient wisdom in a modern world. Should be interesting

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to RockSugar Pan Asian Restaurant in Los Angeles, Central City

  1. Linda says:

    I want to go…………

  2. Judi McKenzie says:

    Your images bring back delicious memories!

  3. i love this post! I’m going to check this restaurant out… There is a probability that my husband and I will be relocating to CA in October/November! keeping the dream alive 🙂

    • That sounds great Marina, so your dream comes alive, maybe??? Hopefully we can met than somewhere in CA. Where about are you going to move in CA? Meanwhile take as many pictures of N.Y. as you can, because you will miss it too!!!! LOL,

      • Yes, we will be returning to the West Coast maybe. We’re looking at downtown LA, Hollywood, or around Santa Monica. Depends on a few things! I do need to write up a list of NY spots to document before we leave. but I will ensure we’re 100% certain of the relocation before I exhaust myself with that. yes, would love to go to the Getty Villa with you – have you been?

    • Marina, I didn’t know that you might soon be moving – exciting! How long have you been out on the east coast?

      • marinachetner says:

        Hi Tricia! yes, we’re off to LA on Oct 22/23/24 – still TBA on that. My total time in NY has been about 5 years. My husband and I lived in the OC/LA for 2 years, so we’re looking forward to going back… !

      • Tricia A. Mitchell says:

        I’m happy for you! It’ll be fun to see how your posts evolve as you move from coast to coast. 🙂 Can’t wait to read more on CA.

      • marinachetner says:

        thanks so much Tricia! looking forward to palms and ocean. Where are you based now?

      • Tricia A. Mitchell says:

        Currently visiting Nevada, but we’ll be heading back to Germany (at least temporarily) in about a month.

  4. Flora says:

    Next time I’m in LA, you, Poupak and I should go …

  5. Cornelia, your imagery and descriptions of the fusion dishes have my stomach growling. 🙂 They remind me of much of the fare that we tried during our travels through Southeast Asia and India, and they inspire me to get into the kitchen and practice the skills we learned during cooking classes in India, Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand.

    I also loved your inclusion of the smallest details. The lanterns’ shadows are beautiful! I hope to make it to LA someday soon.

    • corneliaweberphotography says:

      Oh thank you so much Tricia,that means a lot to me, since you are the passionate asian traveller and blogger! I couldn’t get enough of those details, one was even taken in the ladies room! When ever you get to L.A. let me know. For now happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

