Clothe lines in Italy

Clothe lines have been a part of my childhood, growing up in a time where there no dryers in a household…..so a basket of wet heavy laundry would be carried upstairs to the garden and clipped on the clothe line with wooden clothe pins. Heavy work than. While I was in Tuscany and saw peoples clothes whirling in the wind on a clothe line, my childhood memories came back…..and I took a few images.

cleaned laundry from a day of hard work

cleaned laundry from a day of hard work

DSC_3555

DSC_3556

...all the whites bleached from the sun...

…all the whites bleached from the sun…

....the woman's line....

….the woman’s line….

......the man's line....

……the man’s line….

the contrast against the brick wall is just so Italian

the contrast against the brick wall is just so Italian

DSC_3332

DSC_3338

....uh the wind makes them swirl...

….uh the wind makes them swirl…

....table clothe looking like a skirt...

….table clothe looking like a skirt…

I love the tradition of having the laundry hung up in the fresh air and wind, getting them dried from the mother sun, it is just so natural.

DSC_3682

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Clothe lines in Italy

  1. Very clever idea. Some of the shots from below have a wonderful abstract fee; The pegs against the sky are excellent.

  2. Judi McKenzie says:

    There is nothing better than the smell of clothes that have been dried on a line in the sun! Lots of memories there for a lot of us too! Great shots as always. Love the clothes line with the the clothes pins and the clouds….magic!

  3. Flora says:

    Your photography is always just awesome, Cornelia. There is life, love and soul in them.

  4. einfachtilda says:

    Das echte Leben…klasse!!!

Leave a Reply

