Isola Maggiore an island of the Trasimeno Lake

DSC_3595

Lake Trasimeno it the largest lake of the Italian peninsula, part of the Umbria region in the province of Perugia. The 2nd biggest island Isola Maggiore, a small fishing village, includes ruins of a Franciscan monastery dated back from 14th century.

fragrance of the broom genista

fragrance of the broom genista

The morning of a day trip starts with a grand breakfast, like this….

DSC_3233

DSC_3265

And here we were off to embark for a boat ride via Isola Maggiore

DSC_3656

DSC_3660

DSC_3661

DSC_3664

DSC_3700

the cemetary

the cemetery

little church on top of the hill

little church on top of the hill

The off spring of olives…… later on the trees are surrounded by those nets,  at cropping time the ripe olives will drop off right into that net. 

DSC_3707DSC_3725DSC_3735

bay leave tree

bay leave tree

Espresso siesta under this umbrella

DSC_3739Beautiful old frescoes in the main church.

DSC_3756DSC_3747DSC_3753DSC_3755

DSC_3746

Crocheting is the handcraft of the village

DSC_3745

DSC_3761

the typical construction of a village building

the typical construction of a village building

DSC_3766

DSC_3697

.....this is not for the milkman.....

…..this is not for the milkman…..

...view from a chair....

…view from a chair….

...view with a new hat of my friend

…view with a new hat of my friend

..heading back from the island...arrividerci....

..heading back from the island…arrividerci….

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Isola Maggiore an island of the Trasimeno Lake

  1. Linda says:

    Simply beautiful – feast for the senses.

  2. Judi McKenzie says:

    I feel as if I’ve just been to the island myself. More fabulous images for us to enjoy! Bella!

Leave a Reply

