My 24 hours in beautiful Garmisch in the Alps of bavaria

DSC_2516 copy

On my trip for my brother’s wedding my first destination was Garmisch were my 101 year young aunt ( yes you read that right!) and my cousin live. I had only 24 hours to spend the most beautiful summer day with my dear family in a bliss of everything I love about Bavaria. After a long flight from LAX via Munich,  the following morning  my jet lagged eyes opened, pulling away the laced curtains,  this is what I saw……

DSC_2443

The highest mountain of Germany die "Zugspitze" over 10.000 feet, a miraculous mountain

The highest mountain of Germany die “Zugspitze” over 10.000 feet, a miraculous mountain

.. a reflecting view of my aunts garden through a "Glasskugel" like a glassball,  which is  a traditional decoration in Bavarian gardens.

.. a reflecting view of my aunts garden through a “Glasskugel” like a glassball, which is a traditional decoration in Bavarian

gardens.

.....the photographer got in the picture too....

…..the photographer got in the picture too….

I started out with a bicycle ride through the meadows, some of them were already harvested. A little chapel on the way… cows looking estranged at me… the cool river flowing through a little village… the tractors getting a rest from cutting the grass…. resting on a piece of wood enjoying no, really inhaling that familiar small of grass and the view of the mountains…

DSC_2467

DSC_2461DSC_2465

...rowing boats for rent..

…rowing boats for rent..

...wild flowers...

…wild flowers…

DSC_2484

DSC_2470DSC_2472DSC_2479DSC_2486

...wish to be a tractor to have this view all the time....

…wish to be a tractor to have this view all the time….

DSC_2477My two cousins and I went up by lift “Sesselbahn” to Kranzberg Mountain  starting out from the  famous village of Mittenwald. They both were joddeling full of joy all the way up to the final station of Kranzberg.

DSC_2489DSC_2495

..,wildflowers..

..,wildflowers..

DSC_2492

...dandelion clock....Make a wish...!!!

…dandelion clock….Make a wish…!!!

DSC_2499

... the view from top of Kranzberg down the Lauterberg See,lake...

… the view from top of Kranzberg down the Lauterberg See,lake…

... a little chapel on the way down...

… a little chapel on the way down…

After hiking down to the lake of Lauterbach, we indulged in a well deserved rest with  “Topfenstrudel” with fresh Strawberries and lots of  real whipped cream….”Schlagrahm” oh so delicious!

DSC_2509

...the hike down to Mittenwald where parked the car.....a beautiful 24 hour day at my most favorite place in Germany, surrounded by true nature and family

…the hike down to Mittenwald where parked the car…..a beautiful 24 hour day at my most favorite place in Germany, surrounded by true nature and family

DSC_2517DSC_2520DSC_2519

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My 24 hours in beautiful Garmisch in the Alps of bavaria

  1. Judi McKenzie says:

    Oh, Cornelia, to wake up and see the beautiful Alps just outside the window….wunderbar! It makes me want to go back but this time in the summer time. It is so incredibly beautiful! I love your latest series of photos!

  2. Linda says:

    OK, Cornelia, you’ve done it again – taken me far away and back in just a few short minutes. I could actually smell the mountain air and taste that topfenstrudel!!

  3. Wendy Lopez says:

    Cornelia, Thank you for sharing the most beautiful view I’ve ever had the chance to see. What a wonderful way to wake up in the morning.

  4. Neely Wang says:

    Thank you for sharing your trip, Cornelia! Beautiful images — love the snow-capped mountains and the beautiful blue skies!

  5. Too bad it could only be 24 hrs – but it appears that you made great use of the little time you had!

  6. What a stunning account of your time in Garmisch and beyond, Cornelia. We’ve only been away from Oberammergau for about a week, but your imagery is making me homesick. 🙂 And ah, that Topfenstrudel… Looks divine!

Leave a Reply

