Yes I do…….a wedding in Germany

This summer I  went for the wedding of my brother, what better reason to visit my home country, in Munich, Germany.  Naturally I was their dedicated photographer, actually it was my gift to them. Weddings in Germany are a bit different. The festivities were layed out for 2 days; first day at the civil court house, followed by a picnic at a beer garden, oh, did I mention that this took place in Bavaria, beer!; later on a party on  the patio of their apartment.  The second day the celebration went on at a rural village in a rustic restaurant, the ceremony of exchanging rings was celebrated under a 500 year old tree,  followed by a dinner.

DSC_2533

DSC_2583

DSC_2628

DSC_2633

DSC_2644

DSC_2661

DSC_2669

They are about to cut out from different ends a heart which is painted on linen; who ever reaches the middle the fastest will be the ruler in the house…..Guess who did? After than they step together through the cut out.

DSC_2684 - Copy

DSC_2690 - Copy

Now to the beer garden Aumeister, for the thirsty ones, along with a picnic; it just had stopped  to rain minutes before.

DSC_2732 - Copy

DSC_2746

DSC_2750

DSC_2740 - Copy

This is an old tradition, to bind empty cans on a string attached to the newly weds car, with this rattling sound they drive to their next destination…..

DSC_2765

…..which was on the patio of their apartment; Dinner a huge Paella, was announced by a Buddhist gong……

DSC_2784 - Copy

DSC_2773

DSC_2792

Second day, the festivities continued with the ceremony of exchanging rings under this 500 hundred year old oak tree. This rural village Tading,  has a few houses, a church and a restaurant, a typical tiny Bavarian village. The bride is getting dressed, in their travel VW bus, right next to the church.

DSC_2871

DSC_3019

DSC_2885

DSC_2899

DSC_2883

DSC_2902

They both chose to read their own wedding vows to each other, quite special and moving to everybody.

DSC_2922

DSC_2935

DSC_2938

A beautiful ceremony of exchanging the rings….

DSC_2950

DSC_2954

DSC_2955

DSC_2977

Special friends got up and read a wish for their reunion and future

DSC_2968

DSC_2961

DSC_3004

DSC_4227

Travelling through your life together…

DSC_4235

DSC_4234

DSC_4253

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Yes I do…….a wedding in Germany

  1. What a fabulous wedding….lovely pictures….you did a great job.

  2. Judi McKenzie says:

    The wedding looked like so much fun and festive! Ya! Marvelous photos. I know they will treasure them forever! As always, you did a wonderful job!

  3. Neely Wang says:

    Looks like such a fun and meaningful wedding — you captured all the details and their love so well! Congratulations to your brother and his new wife!

  4. Thank you so much Neely, that is so nice of you. It was really fun to capture their commitment and love to each other. As a photographer I love to capture the details no one else might notice.

  5. Exchanging rings under a 500 year-old tree – how beautiful! As Neely said, I love all the special details you’ve captured for them.

  6. Fig & Quince says:

    Buddhits gong, beer, cutting out a linen heart, the tree … wow, so many interesting things. Lovely post and congrats to the newlyweds!

  7. Unique and interesting, no cookie-cutter wedding! I too like the way you highlighted all those great details that really carry the couple’s taste and a bit of their personalities.

    • Oh thank you so much Annette, that means a lot to me. I didn’t know that I was able to capture all of that. German weddings are often just very unique. In September I will go to Germany for my oldest nephews wedding, looking forward to that so much.

      • My oldest niece is getting married in late September but I’ll have to miss that because my own darling daughter is getting married around that time – in the Caribbean! I’m sad I’ll miss my niece’s wedding but her boyfriend proposed after umpteen yrs of living together and so they didn’t want to wait too long (in case he changes his mind?). But my daughter’s wedding trumps all other plans, as you can well imagine 🙂

Leave a Reply

