The Winter Olympics in 1936, in Germany

The Winter Olympics in 1936 were held in the beautiful Bavarian town of Garmisch Partenkirchen, in Germany. Also the Summer Olympics were hosted in the same year in Berlin.

Scan0029

I won’t go into the history of that and the following years; as we all know that the world history changed from than on.

As the Winter Olympics in Sochi are just beginning, some memories in my photo treasure box came alive.

My parents met each other on February 9th, 1936 in the train from Munich to Garmisch Partenkirchen. My Mom from Prussia, Koenigsberg, which is now Polish called Kaliningrad, travelled with her sister and my father came from Munich. Both beautiful and young!

Scan0026

I believe this are my mothers parents in a sled pulled by horses in the beautiful winter landscape.

Scan0028

The back of a postcard my Mom had written, notice the Stamp.

Scan0030

Over the years the romantics of my parents love story became official in their wedding on December 26th, 1942. It actually was a double wedding with my Mom’s brother and his wife. In this picture my parents are on the right.

Scan0032

Not only  of the fact that my parents met for the Olympics in Garmisch Partenkirchen that I have this passion for this beautiful town, also my father’s twin sister lives there and will turn 102 years next week!

There is a post earlier in 2012 when I went to her 100th Birthday celebration.

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Winter Olympics in 1936, in Germany

  1. Debra Kolkka says:

    What an amazing story! They were so young and lovely.

  2. Linda says:

    This is not only beautiful, it’s so romantic!! I’m tingling with lovely memories on your behalf, and I think this post is so rich and poignant, Cornelia. You could probably write a book on your family history with photos. Thank you for today’s gift!! ~Aloha

  3. Fig & Quince says:

    Happy 102nd birthday to your aunt! That’s awesome. What a fabulous post! LOVE the pix & the stories. Thank you for sharing!

  4. A fascinating look back in time, Cornelia. I love the image of the horse-drawn sleigh. The Olympics must be a sentimental time for you knowing that your parents met then.

Leave a Reply

