A Buddhist tribute for a young precious soul

 

DSC_8614Recently I was part of a Buddhist ceremony for a dear friends son, who had passed. It took place in a pagoda in Westminster, California. This chanting lasts for 49 days, guided by Buddhist nuns and monks every weekend. After that, another circle of chanting takes place  100 days after the soul left the body.

DSC_8613

A very rhythmic chanting in Vietnamese  for about 45 minutes, though I didn’t understand the language, transferred me into a state of meditation , yet focused on the soul of this young man.  This chanting lasts for 49 days, guided by Buddhist nuns and monks every weekend. Following this, another circle of chanting takes place  100 days after the soul left the body.

 After the chanting we were guided to a room in the back of the pagoda, where a special ceremony took place.

DSC_8595

DSC_8603

Reciting special chants in front of the altar, placing  food and pouring tea in small cups  are part of a ceremony for the soul to be lifted up for a greater spirit in the other world.

DSC_8598

DSC_8606

DSC_8610

DSC_8611

May this young, talented and precious soul be in peace.

 

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Buddhist tribute for a young precious soul

  1. Madhu says:

    A beautiful tribute Cornelia. My sympathies to your friends.

  2. Debra Kolkka says:

    What a lovely way to celebrate a life.

  3. Amanda says:

    What a beautiful ceremony. It is a very meaningful way to celebrate life and a life. I’m sorry for your loss. That wall of photos brought tears to my eyes.

  4. Judi McKenzie says:

    It is beautiful. May his soul rest in peace. May peace be with his family and friends. Such a lovely way to remember him.

  5. What a lovely tribute…my condolences.

  6. My condolences to you and your friends, Cornelia.

Leave a Reply

