Viktualienmarkt in Munich, Germany

DSC_0364

DSC_0467

DSC_0354

Each time I go to visit my home town Munich in Germany, it is like a must to pay a visit to my most favorite place in town.

DSC_0443

The Viktualienmarkt in Munich, issued in 1807 by King Maximilian 1, has developed from an original Famer’s Market  to a popular market for gourmets. It’s 140 stalls and shops  offer flowers , exotic fruit, poultry, spices, cheese, fish, juices and so much more…..

During World War 2 this square with it’s cozy atmosphere was severely damaged.

DSC_0380

DSC_0385

DSC_0375

DSC_0390

Viktualien… victuals, is a Latin word , the word for food.

DSC_0402

DSC_0403

Das Honighaeuschen, ” the honey hut”, every thing about honey …

DSC_0377

DSC_0378

DSC_0417

DSC_0423

DSC_0430

The beer garden, a favorite place for locals and tourists

DSC_0424

DSC_0448

Das Reinheitsgebot ……the sign of the pureness of beer….it’s a beer law since the year of 1487..

DSC_0442

An endless variation of different kinds of potatoes

DSC_0415

Wild mushrooms in season..

DSC_0445

DSC_0433

DSC_0454

DSC_0396

DSC_0393

Lovely decorations for your home

DSC_0395

one of the ingredients to make beer..Hopfen…

DSC_0391

The Heiliggeist Kirche… the holy spirit church next to the market, where I always step in for a moment of gratitude and silence..

DSC_0358

DSC_0357

…decorated with doves made of paper…. peace to All.

All images are copyrighted by corneliaweberphotography, if you wish to purchase any images contact corneliaphotography@cox.net.

To learn more about the Viktualienmarkt and Munich, click above after 4 images on the word Viktualienmarkt.

 

 

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Viktualienmarkt in Munich, Germany

  1. I love Munich. Thanks for the lovely memories!

  2. Judi McKenzie says:

    Enjoyed the tour of the market! So lovely! I only saw it in December. It is so different in the summer. Great images as always!

  3. Linda says:

    My goodness, Cornelia. All my senses went berserk at 7:45 a.m. Absolutely gorgeous!!!

  4. Amanda says:

    Wow what a beautiful market. I love those peppers! Cute doggie too. Those doves in the church are so beautiful! Thanks for showing me around Germany.

  5. Roya says:

    Beautiful in every way…thank you for sharing Cornelia joon 😀

Leave a Reply

