A day trip to Catalina Island……

The knots are untied  for a special day trip to the Catalina Island, a little island across the coast of Orange County in California….. though it had been raining that morning….

DSC_3041

……but getting closer to the harbor of Avalon, the sun came out in all it’s beauty. Well the reason why this was so special is that  the day of your birthday the Catalina Express Boat Company offers a free roundtrip from Dana Point to Avalon, about 1 1/2 hours sailing away.

DSC_3225

DSC_3211

Welcomed by this friendly fellow…..

DSC_3038

I am ready for a stroll through the town of Avalon and a hike up to Wrigley Memorial & Botanical Gardens.

DSC_3061

DSC_3062

DSC_3059

DSC_3064

Since Southern California is facing this incredible drought , unfortunately there was almost nothing to see of the blooming  in the Botanical garden

DSC_3100

DSC_3103

The Wrigley Monument is dedicated to William Wrigley Jr. who bought interest in the Catalina Island earlier of this century. In 1892 William Wrigley began to produce chewing gum, derived from Baking Powder and than started the World famous Wrigley Chewing Gum Company. After his passing  in 1932 in Phoenix, Arizona, his sarcophagus is located in this

DSC_3109

Along up all the stairs, they are filled with decorative beautiful tiles, I can only guess that they belong to the ” Art Nouveau Area.

DSC_3112

DSC_3113

DSC_3115DSC_3121

DSC_3123

An abandoned photo booth with a woodpecker’s graffiti…

DSC_3087DSC_3133

Something I had noticed right away, when I  strolled through Avalon town, there are almost no cars, except handy man’s , plumbers etc. otherwise everybody is cruising through town with those carts.

DSC_3063DSC_3209

Down to the harbor of Avalon the famous Theatre of Avalon, unfortunately it was closed as I got there, I got some shots of the exterior, which is well dated back to Nouveau Art Décor.

DSC_3183

DSC_3193DSC_3192

DSC_3195DSC_3198

I got really lucky, the tourist season hasn’t started yet….

DSC_3215

DSC_3210

DSC_3217

DSC_3220

DSC_3045

DSC_3213

Finally time for a late lunch at the waterfront with an incredible view

DSC_3170

DSC_3155

DSC_3152

DSC_3179

DSC_3177

DSC_3186

DSC_3185

DSC_3189

DSC_3205

A smooth “sail” back home to the harbor Dana Point

DSC_3227

I have never seen such a clear water in the ocean, since I have been to the Greek islands.

Well we all shall sail on in our daily life in clearity….

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Coast travelling, Dana point, Orange County, Travel photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A day trip to Catalina Island……

  1. Linda says:

    Thank you for the picturesque birthday gift, Cornelia – yours and mine.

  2. Gail Baker says:

    Cornelia, thank you for the bright colored and texted, breezy and sundrenched photo-travel you shared. ~ Gail

  3. Amy says:

    Great photos! I love your perspective. I’ve seen so many photos of Catalina and been there a few times but never had this perspective. Refreshing as the air over there. 🙂

  4. I love Catalina, but haven’t been there in years. May have to take a trip on my birthday. 🙂
    Great shots, Cornelia.
    Carole

Leave a Reply

