Haridwar India

DSC_7123

 I like to start  my three week journey to India with the highlight, the city of Haridwar.  A about 6 hours drive from New Delhi, through the country side, my eyes were filled with excitement what I saw. In a different post I will share all my experiences of the rural life of India.

DSC_7121

Haridwar is located  at the point where the Ganges emerges from the Himalaya, it is Uttarakhand’s holiest Hindu city and pilgrims arrive here to bathe in the fast-flowing Ganges.

DSC_6914

DSC_6928

DSC_6927

DSC_6993

DSC_7053

Har-ki-Pairi Ghat -the footstep of God- is where is said to have dropped some divine nectar and left behind a footprint. Hindu pilgrims flock here to immerse in the Ganges’s spiritually purifying currents.

DSC_6985

DSC_7075

To be cleansed, men and young boys are getting shaved..

DSC_6947

DSC_6946

DSC_7037

DSC_6950

Every evening as the sun sets bells ring out a rhythm, torches are lit and leaf baskets with flower petals and a candle on top are lit and put on the river to drift away downstream the Ganges.

DSC_7209

DSC_6905

DSC_7204

DSC_7060

DSC_6992

DSC_7020

DSC_6971

DSC_7041

DSC_7049

DSC_7051

DSC_7078

DSC_7207.jpg

DSC_7257

DSC_7260

DSC_7264

DSC_7262

DSC_7271

DSC_7242

DSC_7268

DSC_7305

DSC_7315

DSC_7241

DSC_7234

The Ganges reflecting all colors of the night

DSC_7250

DSC_7324

A glorious full moon shining over Haridwar

DSC_7287

 

All photography work posted on this blog is subject to copyrights owned by Cornelia Weber Photography. Any reproduction, retransmission, republication or other use is prohibited , unless prior written permission has been granted by the owner. All other rights reserved.

 

 

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Haridwar India

  1. What a glorious and rich collection of images you have here Cornelia! Every face testifying to our beautifully diverse earth. And how amazing that you have been to the Ganges, the sacred lifeline of India. Your love is so clearly reflected in these post. Hugs, Sharon

    • Thank you so much dear Sharon. Indeed it was all amazing, at times I had to pinch myself to make me believe that I am so blessed to experience such a beautiful country and people. Yes I did develop a love for India, you are so right.

  2. Herman says:

    Great post and wonderful photographs! Thank you.

  3. Dina says:

    Beautiful impressions, Cornelia!

  4. Laurie Caldas says:

    Dear Cornelia your pictures and words are amazing! I love the bright colors and your descriptions are so educational. I feel like I’m right there with you in India. You are truly talented! Xoxo ❤

  5. Angelika Hartmann-Welli says:

    Was für phantastische Bilder! Und wie immer dein ganz besonderer Blick. Ich freue mich schon auf die nächsten.

  6. Great set of images Cornelia!

  7. Wendy says:

    Beautiful Cornelia! What a Joyful, Colorful Trip! Wendy

  8. narges says:

    So magical and whimsical… I always love & admire your soft delicate perspective, capturing the details in life’s precious moments… it’s pure art.

  9. What a kaleidoscope of colours, people and activity. And it’s that you enjoyed photography the place. Great photos, Cornelia.

  10. Hanna Hartmann says:

    hanna Kairo
    Liebe Nele, was für Farben und Menschen, welche Ausstrahlung. Ein Besuch in Ägypten könnte Dich aber auch zu wunderbaren Fotos inspirieren. Toll Deine ägyptische hanna

    • Liebe Hanna, wie schoen von dir zu hoeren hier. Diese Reise nach Indien war einmalig, zudem ich alleine gereist bin. Oh ich bin mir sicher dass Aegypten mir viele photo opportunities geben geben wuerde. Zwar war ich schon mal in Aegypten vor ca. 35 Jahren, und es waere sicherlich schoen wieder zurueck zu kommen.

  11. What a fantastic array of photos, Cornelia! I will probably never make it to India, so I’m really thrilled to see these. Looking forward to more.

  12. Bidisha says:

    Lovely images of Haridwar. I have a special connection with this city firstly because my would-be husband is from Haridwar and secondly because I completed my higher studies in the city of Dehradun which is very close to Haridwar. I just love the vibe of this city and the serenity of the neighbouring Rishikesh. 🙂

    • Thank you Bidisha, I loved being in Haridwar, I was mesmerized of the spirit and people and absolutely fell in love with it, it’s been my most preferred place on my solo trip. I would walk through the city some days I wouldn’t even see a tourist. Didn’t make it to Rishikesh.

Leave a Reply

