Sanganer in India, the city of hand made paper

DSC_8057.jpgDSC_8052.jpg

DSC_8061.jpg

Sanganer a village in Rajasthan is located 12km south of Jaipur. The main reason to visit, however is to see it’s handmade paper shops and factories.

DSC_8089.jpg

Salim’s Paper is the place to go and fall in love with the beauty of paper.  Well that’s what happened to me, all my life I had a passion for different textured papers.

DSC_8036.jpg

The paper is made from fabric straps and often decorated with petals or leaves.

DSC_8037.jpg

Those cotton scraps soaked with water and getting mixed together

DSC_8042.jpg

DSC_8043.jpg

Than being processed on a screen filter to be compressed

DSC_8039.jpg

How ever adding different totally natural colors

DSC_8041.jpg

DSC_8044.jpg

DSC_8056.jpg

DSC_8086.jpg

The paper press

DSC_8087.jpg

The final product, beautiful paper in sheets, or being fold in boxes, or stitched together on old times sowing machines.

DSC_8046.jpg

DSC_8047

DSC_8048.jpg

DSC_8081.jpg

 

DSC_8064.jpg

DSC_8077.jpg

DSC_8069.jpg

All photography work posted on this blog is subject to copyrights by Cornelia Weber Photography. Any reproduction, retransmission, republication or other use of any documents found on this blog is prohibited, unless prior written permission has been granted by the owner. All other right reserved.

 

 

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in India, paper making in India, paper making in Rajasthan, paper making in Sanganer, Rajasthan India, Sanganer, Travel photography, Uncategorized, Women in India. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sanganer in India, the city of hand made paper

  1. Judi says:

    I am sure that you enjoyed seeing this. I know how much you love the art of paper making! Wonderful images! Keep up our tour of India!!!

  2. I love these handmade papers, so rich and textural…

  3. So interesting. You really got to see and do a lot in India, didn’t you?

  4. Stunning paper! As someone who loves hand-written letters, this piece really spoke to me, Cornelia. Did you visit on an organized tour, or happen upon the workshop by chance?

    • Thank you Tricia, I didn’t do any organized tours I just don’t fit in, because of being a photographer I need to have the freedom to go where ever my lens is drawn to. I am a paper lover and I think I came across this company through my Lonely Travel guide. Oh shopped my heart out, buying several pounds of paper.

Leave a Reply

