Indian wedding in Jodhpur in western Rajasthan

DSC_8357.jpg

Weddings in India are filled with rituals and celebrations that continue for several days

DSC_8356

DSC_8338

It was later in the evening as I had just arrived in  my Victorian style B&B, taking a shower I hear all those drums and instruments  sounding like a parade, I am rushing out of the shower, grabbing my camera and running down to the desk of the hotel asking what’s the event. ” Oh you just missed it, it’s a wedding parade”….. Me ” So where can I see it?”…. ” well this guy can take you there on his motor bike”… I am like I’ve never been on a motor bike, scares me…. ” Oh you will be just fine”… Okay I am pulling all my trust together and get on this young guys bike, not lady like with both legs on one side, rather than getting on a horse…. A minute later I am off to an adventure my hair blowing in my face, holding on to the handle in the back, oh this guy wasn’t  taking a slow ride at all….

DSC_8373.jpg

There I get to a wedding place three times bigger than a football field

DSC_8304.jpg

I was greeted  and welcomed like a guest of the wedding. After they found out that I am a photographer they all wanted me to take pictures of them.

DSC_8297.jpg

It started with the groom coming in on a beautifully decorated horse

DSC_8298 - Copy.jpg

Needless to say, that the groom looked so handsome , to die for, OMG the glow of happiness in his eyes……

DSC_8299.jpg

DSC_8340.jpg

DSC_8351.jpg

The bride was no where in sight, she was still preparing for her great moment of appearance. So I just photographed randomly the pre ceremony festivities happening in a blast.

DSC_8377.jpg

DSC_8312

DSC_8380DSC_8359.jpg

DSC_8320

DSC_8354

DSC_8365

DSC_8383

DSC_8385

 

DSC_8384

DSC_8395

With this beautiful woman I shared a wonderful conversation, she invited me to stay for the entire wedding ceremony which would have taken place at around 2 am…. yet I had to say thanks for the invite but the following day I was off to another city to explore..  so I never got to see the bride

DSC_8398

Yet I was blessed to be part of a pre wedding by surprise and the ride back on the motor cycle wasn’t scary any more at all.

All these images posted on this blog are copyrighted by Cornelia Weber Photography. Any reproduction in way is unlawful, unless getting a written permit by the owner. If you like to purchase any images please contact the owner.

 

 

 

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in India, Indian women, Jodhpur in India, Portrait photography, Rajasthan, Rajasthan India, Travel photography, wedding in India, wedding in Jodhpur. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Indian wedding in Jodhpur in western Rajasthan

  1. Laurie Caldas says:

    I was getting excited just reading your story! The pictures are fabulous! Yes,the groom so handsome and the horse all decorated was amazing!

  2. Judi says:

    For us Westerners, it looks as if you are in the middle of a movie set! The rich colors, the golds and the reds, with everyone dressed in their finest attire! Absolutely beautiful…everyone…even the youngest of participants! Such a fabulous experience including the motorcycle ride! More terrific images. Thank you Cornelia!

    • Judi , makes me happy that you enjoy all my posts about India, not to worry there will be many more as I shot a few thousand images. You are right, us a Westerners, fell like at a movie set, as I felt like being in a constant fairy tale.

  3. scribbler says:

    So colorful, lovely post 🙂

    • Thank you Scribbler, is that your real name, I loved your comment. I spend 3 amazing weeks in your beautiful country, mainly in Rajasthan, and in Haridwar and Ahemadabad. Where in India are you from?

      • scribbler says:

        Hello, my name is Archana. You are definitely a great photographer; your pics have captured perfectly the real beauty of the city and the people. I am from the south of India, however never been to the places you have visited in India. Glad to meet you here 🙂

      • Thank you Archana, what beautiful name. Blushing about your compliments, how wonderful that you get to see places of my work, you have never been there. Stay tuned in, there is so much more coming and thank you for following me.

  4. This really does look like something out of a movie! Love how the horse is decorated and all the colors.

  5. aviottjohn says:

    Love Rajasthan. My wife and I have been there twice, and will start a solar project there in 2016. Thanks for sharing your photos.

    • Thank you so much John? is your name? How interesting staring a solar project, what area in India would that take place. Would love to hear more about your project. Thank you for viewing my images.

Leave a Reply

