Spices in Jodhpur Rajasthan

DSC_8275MV spices in Jodhpur Rajasthan is THE place to go for spices.

DSC_8180

The world famous spice market is located at the historic clock tower of Jodhpur

DSC_8200

climbing up to the top of the clock, to view the insight and greet the clock tower man

DSC_8208 - Copy.jpg

DSC_8214.jpg

MV spice has become a very successful business, taking over by the 7 daughters of their belated father Mahanlal Verhomal. After their father passed away in 2004 leaving the shop for his daughters, he called his daughters his 7 jewels.

Here is Kavita , the most friendly and kind spice expert. She greeted me with a beautiful smile and served me a cup of Kashmeer’s Safran tea, I was immediately hooked to it’s amazing flavor.DSC_8175 - Copy-2

 

DSC_8178-2

The 7 daughters and her mother ,they all fought through all the odds of women in India running their own business against men, including acid attacks, corruption and destroying their business. Today they run shops in 5 locations and will open up soon a store in Paris, as this was their father’s dream.

DSC_8174

All seven  women with their mother,  fought against all odds of women in India running their own business, against men, including acid attacks, corruption and destroying their business. Today they run shops in 5 locations and soon they will open up a store in Paris, as this was their father’s dream

DSC_8179-2

There has been made a movie about the girls of spices, shown in the second London Film Festival, The Spice Girls of India

DSC_8180-2.jpg

The MV spices has set an example for women in India, that they are capable of running their own business in success.

DSC_8262

Well after inhaling all those flavors of spices I had to retire to a real calm place for a late lunch filled with all those spices.

DSC_8244DSC_8265

After all Jodhpur is the place for spices …. and colors as I went to a fabric store

DSC_8262

DSC_8274

DSC_8272

DSC_8280

DSC_8268

DSC_8269

Sugar cane made into a delicious drink with fresh lime

DSC_8717 - Copy

DSC_8718 - Copy

DSC_8720

Jodhpur market

DSC_8219

DSC_8241

DSC_7103

 

All images shown on this post are copyrighted by Cornelia Weber Photography. Any reproduction, copying or other sharing is not allowed by the owner, without permission, if you like to purchase any images please contact the owner of these images corneliaphotography@cox.net

 

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in India, Indian women, International Women's Day, Jodhpur in India, Lonely Planet India, Mahanlal Verhomal, MV spices in Jodhpur, Rajasthan India, The Spice Girls of India, Travel photography, Uncategorized, Women in India. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spices in Jodhpur Rajasthan

  1. Judi says:

    After seeing your latest post, I am ready to go eat Indian food! Love the story about the 7 sisters. More great colorful images!

  2. So much beauty and so many exciting images in your photo-story. Every picture draws me in. Thank You.

    • Thank you so much for your kind comments, I am happy that you enjoyed the images so much. I do like telling stories that go along with my images, I think it makes it so much interesting for the viewer.

  3. Beautifully captured! Thank you for sharing.

  4. Suddenly my net has gone very slow and i am not able to see the pictures only the DSC nos are seen, I shall see to them when I visit next.
    You seem to take lot of pains and put efforts to make your Blog Posts look attractive.
    Thanks,
    Shiva

    • Mr. Shiva thank you for all your compliments on my posts, I feel honored that you take your time to view them. It’s no pain for me, just all pleasure to share with other’s what I see. Be well. Cornelia

Leave a Reply

