Woodblock printing and carpet weaving in Jaipur, India

Jaipur, in Rajasthan called the pink city is world famous for it’s handcrafts. On my way to visit, The Palace of the Winds, I got to stop at a woodblock printing company, as well carpet weaving. Everything is done by hand….

DSC_7619

DSC_7618

Each movement by hand is placed so precisely and flawlessly…

DSC_7613

DSC_7614

DSC_7615

DSC_7616

This skillful carpet weaver had been taught by his father

DSC_7629

DSC_7631

DSC_7632

Finally I got a little smile out of him

DSC_7627

Women spooling the wool

DSC_7623

DSC_7624

 

DSC_7622

Upstairs the overwhelming show room. My eyeballs popped out by all those vivid colors and designs

DSC_7633

DSC_7634

DSC_7635

 

All images published on this post are exclusively copyrighted and owned by Cornelia Weber Photography. Any reproduction or copying  or other uses without the permission of the owner are unlawful. If you wish to purchase any images please contact corneliaphotography@cox.net

 

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in carpet weaving in Jaipur, cultural traditions, Handcrafted artists in Rajasthan, handcrafts of Jaipur, India, Lonely Planet India, Portrait photography, Rajasthan, Rajasthan India, Travel photography, Uncategorized, woodblock printing in Jaipur. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Woodblock printing and carpet weaving in Jaipur, India

  1. Cornelia, having been to Jaipur several years ago (and as the owner of some woodblocks and fabric printed by hand using them) I greatly enjoyed your mini photo essay of these artisans at work. Did you bring any special souvenirs home with you?

    • Tricia, of course I couldn’t resist to shop for a few items filling my suitcase, it was way to tempting. When you were in Jaipur did you publish a post on your blog? Isn’t Jaipur a beautiful place, I enjoyed visiting it.

  2. Wonderful photo essay, Cornelia.

  3. India has such a rich culture and you are able to explore the details and the exhuberant intensity of life and colour in the places you visit. I enjoy seeing the pride and happiness of the artisans when you photograph them with/at their work – would that we all could feel that, too.

  4. You have wonderfully captured the Pictures of the Block printing.
    Such things become nostalgia as time passes by, when we adopt to newer things and technologies.
    They will be reminiscences; holding them in your camera is not only a memory but shall tomorrow be a document of history.
    Don’t’ You think so.
    Thanks
    Shiva

    • Thank you, Mr.Shiva. I absolutely agree with you, that’s one of the many things I enjoyed so much during my trip in India. If it was watching people working hard to produce bricks in a brick factory or processing sugar cane into sugar syrup or making paper in a paper factory……etc. I have always been a down to earth person and capturing with my camera the real world of people who create wonderful things without much technology has certainly enhanced my work and life. Thank you. Best wishes from Cornelia

Leave a Reply

