Street food in Rajasthan India

DSC_7101

DSC_7113

Food in India had been like a heaven for me being a vegetarian. Besides that, everything is prepared fresh and so flavored mixed with all those spices and fresh herbs. Yet I have to admit, that as tempting all those street food stalls were I didn’t try them out, well I am a Western with certain fears. 

DSC_0080

Freshly baked Samosas, filled with vegetables or potatoes

DSC_7098

DSC_0194

DSC_8244 - Copy

One of my dinners in Jodhpur, a coconut curry with eggplants, cashew’s  toppled with raisins.

DSC_8265 - Copy

DSC_7640

Those vibrant colors and the freshness is just so mouth watering and inviting.

DSC_0568

DSC_6395

DSC_6408

Well cows have to eat to and they are fed daily the most fresh herbs, it seemed to be like a kind of watercress herb.

DSC_0087

DSC_0088

More Samosas in Pushkar

DSC_8115

Vegetable curry and paneer, an Indian kind of cheese made with boiling milk added a few and than being pressed through a cheese towel…. served with Naan, the traditional bread. 

DSC_8131

DSC_6410

Fresh limes squezzed added with fresh sugar cane, a very refreshing drink.

DSC_0199

Lunch time at the famous Green House Restaurant in Ahmedabad with a lime juice soda

DSC_0252

DSC_0257

finishing with the most divine dessert made of Mangoes, Yoghurt and some fine spices, sprinkled with cashew nuts.

DSC_0258

Hope you enjoy this post, it will be followed soon by a post about the street markets in Rajasthan , India stay in tuned…

All images on this post are under the copyright of Cornelia Weber Photography. Any copying or other uses are strictly under the law of copyright of the owner Cornelia Weber Photography. If you wish to purchase any images please contact corneliaphotography@cox.net

 

 

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in cultural traditions, Food in India, India, Indian cooking, Indian culture, portraits in India, Rajasthan, street food in Rajasthan, Travel photography, travelling on my own in India, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Street food in Rajasthan India

  1. Nice posting, what a treat – full of delightful images from the slightly grumpy lady in the first image to the mango dessert in the last one …

    [ Peripheral note: I could not resist looking up that partial book cover “100 ways to … AHME” on the web and found a 2013 blog posting about this intriguing bookstore in Ahmedabad… https://talesalongtheway.com/2013/08/29/art-book-center-ahmedabad/ ]

    • Hi David, thank you so much for all your kind comments, I always love to hear from you and I am honored that you spend time to view all my images. Also I wanted to thank you for this really interesting link, me as a professional book seller back than where I lived in Germany it is especially interesting, wishing that I would have visited that book store in Ahmedabad. Namaste

  2. Yum – I have an Indian friend who took her American-born daughter to India and encouraged her to try the street food. Her daughter resisted but finally gave in and became very ill afterwards 😦

  3. Mouthwatering photos!

  4. Bidisha says:

    What a lovely post. Those pictures had me drooling all the way. I miss my Rajasthan Days. I discovered this one amazing eatery in Jodhpur called the Mishrilal Hotel and they served the best Makhania Lassi(made of yoghurt) and Rabri( a sweet dessert made of thickened milk). Have you been there and tried this thing? It’s quite famous in Jodhpur. You may like my post on it:http://bidishabanik.com/the-chronicles-of-makhania-lassi/

    • Bidisha, thank you for your lovely comment. Unfortunately I haven’t been at the Mishrila Hotel,in Jodhpur,I checked your posts but it looks drooling too, those Lassi’s . I’ve had those several times as an afternoon snack and I loved the mango lassi.

Leave a Reply

