Chocolate in Garmisch

dsc_9476

Surrounded by beautiful views of the highest mountain in Germany, called Zugspitze I was wandering around the streets of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, a  little adorable town at the foot of the Zugspitze. It’s buildings are adorned with paintings, called Lueftlmalerei, meaning that they are applied in the fresh air right on the walls. Most often  they refer to scenes from the bible or historical events of the town.

dsc_9456

The city hall of Garmisch.

dsc_9420

The youth choir  in it’s old church rehearsing for Christmas evening.

dsc_9423

dsc_9422

dsc_9428

It’s been a very frosty and sunny day.

dsc_9460

dsc_9464

But who would have guessed that my city stroll would lead me to a very fine chocolaterie, named Amelie. I spotted the sign from far.

dsc_9480

The world of chocolate…

dsc_9442

dsc_9482

 

dsc_9446

This sign says it all ” Live is getting harder , I need chocolate”

dsc_9438

dsc_9441

Amelie’s speciality is their broken pieces of chocolate

dsc_9444

There are little plates of samples all over the place and each piece just melts softly in your mouth.

dsc_9447

A cacao bean

dsc_9440

The chocolate kitchen of Amelia

dsc_9448

All the tools of this work bench are hand made of chocolate.

dsc_9445

Some older business are adorned with handmade metal signs hanging above their store, like this bakery.

dsc_9487

Fresh mistletoe branches

dsc_9531

The local mail man and mail boxes

dsc_9494

dsc_9539

A beautiful walk through Garmisch on the day before Christmas. The star is just pointing at the top of the mountain, Zugspitze.

dsc_9503

Enjoy what you see.

All images are protected under the copyright of the owner Cornelia Weber Photography. Any kind of reproduction is unlawful, please contact corneliaphotography@cox.net for permission.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About corneliaweberphotography

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in chocolate, Frosty day at the alps, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Uncategorized, Zugspitze the highest mountain of Germany. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Chocolate in Garmisch

  1. Jane Lurie says:

    A wonderful walk through this quaint town, Cornelia. A terrific mix of details, culture and architecture.

  2. Judi McKenzie says:

    As always loved your images of Garmisch. I was so fortunate to spend several days there a few years ago during December. It is such a beautiful magical town. Going to the Zugspitze was amazing like being on the top of the world! You have captured it all! Of course, a taste of chocolate is always a treat for the eyes, tongue and soul! xxx

  3. Eleazar says:

    Nice place to visit indeed at the foot of the Bavarian Alps.
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. Cornelia beautiful as ever.
    I just felt I moved around those places.
    Credits: Cornelia Weber Photography.
    Thanks
    Shiva

  5. aviottjohn says:

    Amelie! One of my favorite movies. A love story with a chocolate background. Thank you for the photographs.

    • Oh I never thought about the movie, you are right such a lovely movie. I didn’t think about the connection between the movie and the chocolaterie I visited. Thank you so much for bringing that to my attention.

  6. Oh, it’s so good to see Garmisch again. I lived not far from there years ago and always enjoyed visiting this little town. Thanks for sharing, Cornelia.

Leave a Reply

