Reading books outdoors…..

Have you ever heard of an outdoor bookstore? It is The Bart’s Books in Ojai, CaliforniaBart’s bookstore in Ojaj

” A great book that comes from a great thinker is a ship of thought, deep freighted with truth and beauty” -Pablo Neruda

” Just take a seat and ponder on all the choices of books

And of course there is the cat who is observing what’s going on , especially at the register

” Reading is the sole means by which we slip involuntarily often helplessly , into another skin, another’s voice , another’s soul ” -by Carol Oates

” To learn to read a book is to light a fire, every syllable that is spelled out is a spark” – by Victor Hugo

Enjoy what you see and what you like to read.

About www.corneliaweber-photography.com

In my photography work I thrive to capture the soul of the moment. I let my images speak the language of stillness and vibration, with that I leave my audience to find their own reflections and emotions. My approach in my work is to lead other's to their own imagination and freedom of dreams. I invite you to visit my web site www.corneliaweber-photography.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Reading books outdoors…..

  1. Herman says:

    That bookstore seems a very nice place to hang around and check out some books. And yes, there’s also that cat… 😉

  2. Klausbernd says:

    Dear Cornelia,
    if we ever come to California we will go there for sure.
    What a nice atmosphere. That’s the only kind of outdoor bookshop we have ever heard of.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Wishing you a happy weekend
    The Fab Four of Cley
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Thank you dear Klausbernd for your kind response. Indeed this bookstore has a really nice and relaxing atmosphere, I could spent days and nights in a bookstore, since my former profession was a bookseller, back the days in Germany. I had forgotten to mention in my post, that apparently this is the biggest outdoor bookstore in the world, opened up in 1964. Wishing you and your family a great Sunday and week. Greetings from over the ocean.

  3. Peter Klopp says:

    An outdoor library is a beautiful idea for the warmer regions of our planet. You will find a few mini-libraries in Canada during the summer. Lovely photos, Cornelia!

  4. Oh, wow! I need to check this out. Exciting place and perfect for relaxation. Love the vintage furnishings too. Life is truly better outdoors. Thanks. Happy Weekend my friend. About to drive to Santa Cruz for some Sun and Ocean view. ☀️🙏

  5. walesforevercymru says:

    That looks like an amazing place. I just love books and could sit there all day. The cat would be the icing on the cake. Beautiful.

  6. Oh! what a beautiful way of reading and enjoying yourself sitting at this wonderful open cafe. Superb post, Cornelia. The huge cat too is a great observer who is reading or who is talking. Awesome post.

  7. M.B. Henry says:

    That is one of my absolute favorite bookstores – I used to visit very often when we lived in California! 🙂 🙂

  8. arv! says:

    This is the first open-air library I have come across. Interesting. A good place for the city which enjoys good weather all year round.

    • Thank you Arv, I am glad you enjoyed it. I had forgotten to mention in my post, that this is the largest outdoor book store in the world, founded in 1964. Only in California, a place like that can survive, because (unfortunately it hardly rains here. Have a great and inspiring week.

  9. A book and adventure lover wonderland . I wish there is one closer to me but hope to visit this place one day. The concept is really perfect for California, one because it doesn’t really rain and two, outdoors is the way to go with delta covid lurking everywhere. Thank you so much for sharing the beautiful photos and travelogue. A delight of the senses. Happy Wednesday☀️🙏

  10. belocchio says:

    This would be my idea of heaven. One I am sure would have shelf after shelf of my favourite books,. And to complete this heavenly thought – a resident cat. Surely Paradise is a place called Ojai.

  11. Tina Schell says:

    What a fun and interesting place Cornelia – there’s no way such a place could exist in most of the US due to weather constraints. But it’s a wonderful idea and I would so love to sit and ponder the many choices before lovingly choosing a selecting and sitting in the sun for a read. Lovely post.

  12. This a an absolut delight. Even the ageing chairs exuberate wisdom. Lovely post cornelia. Lovely light. Thanks for sharing.

    Narayan x

Leave a comment